November 10, 2009

Guest Column: Introducing The Jaded Sports Fan

I thought overall the Strikeforce card was quite good. It was well presented and I really like the analysis of Frank Shamrock, I feel like he adds a lot of the broadcast without Gus Johnsons' signature overflow of hyperbole. The other annoucers was superfluous and should be replaced by someone who's thoughts are noticable. Overall I thought the quality of fights were very good, with a little something for everyone from hardcore fans to people watching MMA for the very first time.

Fabricio Werdum vs. Antonio "Bigfoot" Silva

The Werdum-Silva match was a hell of a comeback, after werdum got rocked and almost finished in the first round. He managed to stay alive by using the tactic most MMA fighters use against someone with superior stand-up. Werdum took Silva down again and again until it appeared Silva was too gassed to do as much damage in the stand-up as he did in the first round. Werdum won the 3-round decision, a decision I agreed with wholeheartedly and actually scored the fight 29-28 myself giving Silva the first round and Werdum the next 2. Werdum showed tremendous guts and Silva showed some holes in his game.

Jake Shields vs. Jason "Mayhem" Miller
The Shields vs. Miller match was a great grappling contest, although Miller's antics get old fast. Maybe instead of mugging for the camera while being pressed up against the cage to show his distaste for Shields' gameplan he should have tried to execute a reversal, and then maybe he gets the rear naked with a minute left in the round instead of 7 seconds. Just a thought Mayhem. However, Shields' came in with a clear and concise gameplan, he was going to test the stand-up with Miller, and if he didn't immediately get the better of it, take the fight to the ground. Shields executed this to perfection, taking Miller down at will and controlling him there. Miller, however, seemed to live up to his moniker "Mayhem". He didn't come in with any clear gameplan other than to try to land big shots on his feet. When taken down, as discussed earlier he decided to mug for the camera rather than execute a strategy to win the fight. Mayhem's lack of focus and Shields' razor-sharp focus was the difference in the fight. Although Shield's game seemed vulnerable against someone with superior take-down defense.

Gegard Mousasi vs, Ramieu Thierry Sokoudjou
I was particularly excited for this fight because I'd heard lots and lots of hype regarding Mousasi and never saw him fight. I have to say I was disappointed, I thought that Mousasi's stand-up in the first round was lazy and overconfident. Maybe he just knew that even if taken down by Sokoudjou he wouldn't be in any danger and was trying for the submission, but if that's the stand-up he goes with against UFC caliber LHW, a straight jab is going to rock him when he puts his hands up for no reason like he did. I was impressed with Mousasi on his back, and that foot sweep he pulled at the end of the first round came out of nowhere and was very impressive, however, I expected more from the DREAM Middleweight grand prix winner and a fighter who has gotten as much hype as Mousasi has. Here's hoping that Mousasi is tested harder in his next fight. As Sokoudjou really showed nothing new to his game that we haven't seen before, and I really hope this is the last time he fights on a major US card.

Fedor Emelianenko vs. Brett "The Grim" Rogers
The Fedor-Rogers fight was far better than I thought it would be, Rogers really showed some aspects to his game, the fact that he was able to stand up as easily as he did after being taken down proves he can hang with anyone in the world, and he almost made good on his punchers' chance in the first round, but of course against Fedor, everyone ALMOST gets him, then they get knocked out by a punch that would have stunned a buffalo. However, Rogers really showed he has staying power in the Heavyweight division and Strikeforce really showed tonight that in the Heavyweight division, especially since signing Fedor, they can hang with the UFC in depth and quality at the top.

Overall, I would rate the card a win for Strikeforce, it had a little bit of everything, good technical grappling and striking that can be appreciated by hardcore fans. And a huge highlight-reel knockout climax on the night that everyone could enjoy, well maybe except Brett Rogers.

TJSF

2 comments:

  1. Will Fedor get a chance to fight against the top UFC heavyweight? Or will his contractual obligations prohibit him from fighting outside of Strikeforce?

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm not sure the exact particulars of Fedor's contract with Strikeforce. I do know, however, that that contract permits Fedor to compete in Combat Sambo tournaments, which are very similar to mixed martial arts contests. However, I know the structure of the UFC contract in general is much more exclusive, and therefore while Fedor is under contract with any other MMA organization, such as Strikeforce, he will be unable to compete against anyone currently under contract with the UFC.
    There was actually a large public outcry when Fedor Emelianenko's previous contracted organization, Afflication, folded, for him to sign with the UFC. The two sides were unable to reach and agreement, and therefore Fedor and his management company (Also an MMA promotion, the situation is very convaluted) M-1, signed with the American promotion Strikeforce.

    ReplyDelete